almost instant muffins

When I was going through my cupboard and found this mix for muffins.  I’m honestly not sure where it came from, but I noticed a muffin mix that was in a plastic tube, instead of the usual box.  I pulled it down, and after reading the instructions decided I might as well make them.  I have no idea if they are going to be any good but I made them anyway.

The instructions are as follows:

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees
  2. Shake well for 15 seconds
  3. Add 1/2 cup of water
  4. Shake well for 60 seconds
  5. Pour into cupcake pan (that has either been sprayed or has liners)
  6. Bake for 15-17 minutes
  7. Done

This entire thing took me 20 minutes, tops, and most of that time I was off doing other things while they were baking.  Now, while I was pouring batter out of this plastic tube and into my pan I thought about this process.  Sure it was quick, and easy, but was it really something I wanted to do all of the time?  Part of the reason I love baking so much is because it’s fun to do the process start to finish.  Not to mention, I feel like I’m cheating.  Pouring water, and shaking, does not constitute baking in my mind.

I’ll be giving these to my sorority sisters when I see some of them tomorrow.  I figure if they’re bad, they can just not eat them and I don’t be upset about it.  I might try one first, just to make sure.  I’ll keep you posted 🙂

-Meghan

UPDATE: so these actually turned out to be pretty good.  And I saw the mix at Walmart the other day!  Definitely worth it for some quick muffins 🙂

Leave a Reply

