organize tea in jars

I’m a huge fan of tea.  I don’t mind the normal cheap kind, but sometimes it’s nice to have a cup of good tea.  A little while ago a new tea store opened up in Lincoln called Teavana.  It’s kind of expensive, but for my birthday (awhile ago) I decided to buy myself some tea.  At the time, I’d been sick for a couple of weeks and a good cup of tea was all I wanted.  So I bought a little bit of three different kinds.  They give them to you in paper sacks, and you’re supposed to put them in these metal containers for storage.  Problem; I didn’t have any and wasn’t about to spend more money for them.  So I keep the tea, each in it’s little baggy, in a tupperware container.  This isn’t ideal, and it took up a ton of space in my cupboard, but it worked for awhile.  However I found this idea on Pinterest!  I bought mason jars (8oz) at walmart, and put my tea in those.  Eventually, I plan on painting the top of each jar with chalk paint, and using chalk to write the name. For the time being (because I don’t have chalk paint or time) I just used a sharpie to write the name of the tea.

These are Peach Momotaro, Blueberry Bliss, and Moroccan Mint.

I’ve been wanting to do this project for awhile, and I’m so glad that I finally did it!  It saves a ton of space in my cupboard, and is much better for the tea.  It took very little time to do, but not only does it save space, but it looks nice.  The rich colors, and textures are kind of fun, and would be easy to display as well as use.  At this point, with my current living situation, this isn’t an option, but someday maybe.

-Meghan

Leave a Reply

