smoothies galore!

I’ve been on a “diet” of sorts for almost a year now.  This “diet” is not really a diet, its just me trying to watch what I put in my mouth.  I eat a lot of sweets if I allow myself, and so I started by just cutting down to one sweet-type thing a day.  And from there, it’s just been a process of trying to cut things like fast food, highly processed food, and just stuff I know is bad for me.

I got a magic-bullet type blender for christmas, and since then, I like to make myself smoothies.  If you use the right ingredients, it can be a pretty fulling meal.  Most of the time, I just throw a bunch of stuff in and hope it tastes good (which with fruit it normally does) but sometimes it’s good to take cues from actual recipes.  Here are smoothies that I personally like:

  1. Peanut Butter–Apple: Blend 1 chopped peeled apple, 3 tablespoons creamy peanut butter, 2 tablespoons flax seeds, 1 1/2 cups each soy milk and ice, and honey to taste.
  2. Peanut Butter-Banana: Blend 1 banana, 1/2 cup peanut butter, 1/2 cup non-fat milk, and ice
  3. Mocha: 1/2 cup low-fat vanilla yogurt, 1 shot of coffee, 2 teaspoons of cocoa powder, ice
  4. Whateverihaveinthefridge: splash of milk, some vanilla yogurt, fruit, ice

Here are some links to other smoothies that I’d love to try:

http://justeatyourveggies.tumblr.com/post/11108525480/slimtastic-smoothies-20-nutritious-and-delicious

http://weightloss.allwomenstalk.com/smoothies-that-aid-in-weight-loss/

http://laceyinloveblog.blogspot.com/2011/09/diy-smoothie-packs.html

In a hurry during the day?  Spend some time, when you have it, and make little baggies with all of the ingredients.  You can freeze the yogurt in muffin cups, then freeze it all together and throw it in with the milk when it’s lunch time.  Definitely going to have to do this all the time this summer!!

-Meghan

Leave a Reply

